7 Areas of Learning

Please click the icons above for more information

Additional Information

Our nursery practitioners and teachers carefully plan learning and activities through 7 areas of learning ensuring that planning is unique and individual to each child to meet their individual needs.

The 7 areas of learning are split in to three ‘Prime’ areas of learning and four ‘Specific’ areas of learning. the prime areas are important because they lay the foundations for children’s success in all areas of learning and of life:

• Communication and Language
• Personal, Social and Emotional
• Physical

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. The specific areas provide the range of experiences and opportunities for children to broaden their knowledge and skills:

• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the World
• Expressive Art and Design